Search

Updated: Sep 4


Hello!


I hope everyone has been doing well. :) I have been catching up on some much needed rest lately, but I was excited to get back into the swing of things; hehe, crafting that is!


And what a fun way to do so with some adorable Lawn Fawn images!


I have been addicted to slimlines lately and just picture every scene on that stretched layout. I think it's so fun and you can fit more images on one card, which is what I did for this one.




To start, I stamped out several images from the new Ocean Shell-fie stamp set onto a piece of Strathmore 140 lb. cardstock. I also used Versafine Clair black ink as I planned to watercolor the images. I should have used my heat tool on the images before coloring because I definitely smeared them, but that's what fussy cutting is for! 😆


Once everything was stamped, I used my Zig real brush markers to fill in the images. At first, I just used the markers without any water because I wanted to keep everything vibrant. I attempted to used two and three color blends like I would with Copics, but ran into a bit of an issue.


The darker pigments were very dark and I didn't leave enough room within the image to fully blend them out as much as I would've liked. So, I brought in a paintbrush and water to pick up some of the color and dabbed it away with a paper towel to get back some light areas.


From there, I blended the rest of the colors out with water and built up the darker colors slower so that they didn't take over the image.


I used an embossing stylus to add white highlights using white acrylic paint and then fussy cut the images. I also traced along the edges with a black water based brush marker.


For the background, I used a piece of bristol smooth cardstock and distress oxides in the colors peacock feathers, salty ocean, and faded jeans. I used blending brushes to blend the ink across the cardstock and then used my heat tool to speed up the drying time.


I used the same cardstock along with brushed corduroy, gathered twigs, and ground espesso oxides to blend the piece I planned to use for the sand. I also splattered some black soot across the brown piece to add some texture.


To cut the two pieces out, I used Lawn Fawn's large stitched slimline die and a stitched hillside border die and ran the inked panels through my Big Kick. Once I had the card front panel, I decided to spritz it with my distress sprayer and then started to lay out the scene.


Before I glued down all the pieces, I grabbed a couple more Lawn Fawn stamp sets to make up my sentiment. I used Fintastic from Keep on Swimming, #SELFIE from Wild About You and Smile! from Ocean Shell-fie. I stamped them all a few times with Versamark ink on black card stock with white detail embossing powder. I heat set them with my heat tool and trimmed them down.


I then glued everything into place and added some, I'm not quite sure how to describe them, foggy white enamel dots I made using Perler beads, to look like bubbles.


For the final step, I used liquid adhesive to glue the main panel onto a 3 1/2" x 8 1/2" 110 lb. card base.


I am so happy with how this under water photo shoot scene turned out. 😄 I can't believe I tried to convince myself I didn't need this set! 😆


GIVEAWAY (CLOSED)


One last thing I wanted to share...


I'm giving away an Ocean Shell-fie stamp set to a subscriber over on my YouTube channel!


All you have to do to enter is follow the link below, subscribe to Cutie Patootie Crafts, like and leave a comment on the video for this card.


https://youtu.be/YODy1yaLiYw


A random winner will be chosen on Wednesday, September 2. 😊


Thank you so much for stopping by!


-Jenni :)

Supplies


Stamps:

Ocean Shell-fie: https://www.not2shabbyshop.com/ocean-shell-fie_p_12762.html


Keep on Swimming: https://www.lawnfawn.com/products/keep-on-swimming?_pos=1&_sid=f7370ab15&_ss=r


Wild for You: https://www.lawnfawn.com/products/wild-for-you?_pos=1&_sid=5db6737b7&_ss=r


Dies:

Large Slimline with Sliders: https://www.not2shabbyshop.com/large-slimline-with-sliders_p_12503.html


Markers:

Zig Clean Color Real Brush: https://amzn.to/3gCaXDr


Distress Oxides:

Peacock Feathers: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-peacock-feathers/


Salty Ocean: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-salty-ocean/


Faded Jeans: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-faded-jeans/


Brushed Corduroy: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-brushed-corduroy/


Gathered Twigs: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-gathered-twigs/


Ground Espresso: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-ground-espresso/


Hiya!


Whoever thought I'd think a snail was cute?! 😆 But this little guy from Kinda Cute digital stamps, really is the star of the show!


I started this card by sizing my snail image to take up a pretty big chunk of an A2 card front. I printed it out onto 80 lb. Neenah card stock and set off to color with some Prismacolor pencils.


Once I had my image all colored up, I fussy cut him out and traced along the edges with a Memento tuxedo black marker.


For my card front, the idea was to have my snail sitting on a huge pile of mini envelopes. However, once I started making them with the mini envelope punch board, it turned out they were a little too big.


Instead, I picked six of my envelopes in rainbow order and laid them out onto an A2 card front. I die cut the card front from some 110 lb. white card stock with a Lawn Fawn stitched rectangle stackable.


I already had the sentiment from Lawn Fawn's Gleeful Gardens in mind when I set out to make this card, so I pulled it out and heat embossed it with white embossing powder onto a piece of black card stock.


The sizing of the sentiment was pretty perfect in combination with my six mini envelopes, and I spaced them out as evenly as I could across the card front.


I "sealed" the envelopes with a flat back pearl heart and glued everything in place onto the card panel. I added my snail towards the top of the card panel and popped up the sentiment with a piece of foam tape underneath him.


Then I added the whole thing onto an A2 card base I made using 110 lb. white card stock.


You can find this cute snail digi here:


https://kindacutebypatricia.com/snail-digital-stamp/

or

https://etsy.me/2QvOgG1


Thanks so much for stopping by!


-Jenni :)

Supplies


Mini Envelope Punch Board: https://www.joann.com/we-r-memory-keepers-mini-envelope-punch-board/16152084.html


Gleeful Gardens: https://www.lawnfawn.com/products/gleeful-gardens?_pos=1&_sid=72318d5ee&_ss=r


Prismacolor Pencils: https://amzn.to/3gxs5Ke


Large Stitched Rectangle Stackables: https://www.lawnfawn.com/products/large-stitched-rectangle-stackables?_pos=2&_sid=7b9d9997b&_ss=r


Hi there!


The trick-or-treaters have come early this year and they're on the look out for candy! 🍫😆🍬🍭


These fun critters are part of the Not 2 Shabby Fall Release and I had such a fun time getting all these cuties onto one card for the #N2SFALLRELEASE Inspiration Hop.



My first step in starting this card was stamping out all of the images from Critter Costume Party, onto 80 lb. Neenah cardstock with Gina K. black amalgam ink.


I used Copic markers to color my images and then I cut them out using my Scan 'N Cut. I also added a few highlights and details using a white gelly roll pen.


After the characters were complete, I set them aside and started on the background. I took a piece of 110 lb. black card stock and the English brick wall stencil from MFT, and stenciled the pattern onto the card stock with hickory smoke distress oxide and a foam blending tool.


Once the ink was dry, I ran the panel through my Bigkick with Lawn Fawn's large and small stitched slimline dies, which created a frame and a 3"x8" panel. I then took the panel and added three doors across it using a lift the flap die from Lawn Fawn's peekaboo backdrop die.


I used the same flap die to cut out three more doors from purple, orange and green cardstock. And to give them some extra texture, I ran the doors through the diecut machine with Hero Art's woodgrain texture die.


I used Lawn Fawn's Build-a-house dies and add-ons to cut a window into the front of each door. Before I added the colorful door to the flap on the panel, I inked the edges with a coordinating distress oxide ink and sandwiched a small piece of vellum between the window and the door. I also added a mini brad to each one to resemble a door knob and then glued them onto the flaps.


Next, I created a slimline card base using 110 lb. white card stock. Behind each door I added a different patterned paper and then glued them directly to the card base. Then I glued down the brick patterned frame on top of that. I used two layers of foam tape to pop up the panel with the flaps and attached it to the card base.


Now the really fun part...adding all the little trick-or-treaters! I stuck a character behind each door and placed the rest onto the front of the card. Plus a bonus Halloweeny llama on the inside!


And as a final embellishment, I used some Tim Holtz number dies to cut out the number 31 and add it to the front of the building to symbolize the spooky address for the apartment building. 👻🍬🎃🍭




This was such a fun interactive card to make and I had a great time being part of the Not 2 Shabby Inspiration hop! 😊 Thanks for hopping with me!


And thanks so much for stopping by!


-Jenni :)

Supplies


Stamps:

Critter Costume Party: https://www.not2shabbyshop.com/Critter-Costume-Party-4X8-Clear-Stamp--N2S_p_13013.html


N2S Fall Release Bundle: https://www.not2shabbyshop.com/I-want-it-All-Fall-Release-2020-Bundle--N2S_p_13017.html


Stencil:

English Brick Wall: https://mftstamps.com/products/english-brick-wall-stencil?_pos=1&_sid=22e2a1f3b&_ss=r


Dies:

Large Slimline with Sliders: https://www.not2shabbyshop.com/large-slimline-with-sliders_p_12503.html


Small Slimline with Lift the Flaps: https://www.not2shabbyshop.com/small-slimline-with-lift-the-flaps_p_12502.html


Build-A-Castle: https://www.not2shabbyshop.com/build-a-castle_p_12749.html


Build-A-House: https://www.lawnfawn.com/products/build-a-house?_pos=3&_sid=21a6b5311&_ss=r


Build-A-House Halloween Add-on: https://www.lawnfawn.com/products/build-a-house-halloween-add-on?_pos=5&_sid=21a6b5311&_ss=r


Peekaboo Backdrop: https://www.lawnfawn.com/collections/lawn-cuts/products/peekaboo-backdrop


Number Dies: https://www.hobbylobby.com/Scrapbook-Paper-Crafts/Die-Cut-Machines-Accessories/Machines/Sidekick-Machine/p/80911081


Hero Arts Woodgrain Texture Die Cut: https://www.joann.com/hero-arts-die-cut-woodgrain-texture/17374737.html


Distress Oxides:

Ripe Persimmon: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-ripe-persimmon/


Mowed Lawn: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-mowed-lawn/


Dusty Concord: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-dusty-concord/


Hickory Smoke: https://www.scrapbookpal.com/tim-holtz-distress-oxide-ink-pad-hickory-smoke/

Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
Meet Jenni
I Love bright colors, cute critters and creating fun handmade projects.

© 2023 by DO IT YOURSELF. Proudly created with Wix.com